Ciao! Just a short post from me this time as I’m in the middle of my move to Lisbon.

I was recently introduced to the idea of a ‘Sartrean perspective’; a concept developed by Jean-Paul Sartre, which reveals the fundamental strangeness of objects and day-to-day actions, which are at first glance mundane, when they are stripped of biases and assumptions – when it is shown, at bottom, what an object is, or what an action involves.

I thought I’d try out such a view on particle-physics research:

Particle physics is the practice of turning a flow of electrons into a flow of other particles (protons at the LHC) and back into a different flow of electrons, which one then interprets in an effort to disprove ones mathematical understandings of the Universe.

I found this video on Sartre to be very interesting, and indeed “The School of Life” has some great videos on subjects ranging from philosophy and political theory, to history and literature.

Well, it’s time for me to bid farewell to my green and pleasant (damp and cold) land and go on a little adventure. Hopefully next time I’ll be able to detail how wonderful life in Portugal and at LIP is, so ’til then!