Two weeks have passed since the workshop in Venice, and I would like to share with you my impressions about the project I’m involved in and the future perspectives waiting for me in the next months.

One of the purposes of this workshop was to write down a schematic career plan for all the ESR’s hired. This meant to me an occasion to think about what I’m gonna do in my very next future and to have a clear overall overview of my tasks as ESR of the network.

Indeed, despite the fact that we are physicists and most of the time it’s very difficult to have strict plans, to take stock of the situation without going in deep details is something that can help to understand better the work and do it properly.

I’ll be in Oxford in July, together with Giles, the ESR from Lisbon. It seems that I will work on the development of the Matrix Element Method (I’m currently working on that at UCL in the WW fully leptonic channel) and interact with the local group to exchange ideas and new points of views about my work and physical topics in general.

At the end of the year I’ll be involved in a secondment at B12 Consulting in Louvain-la-neuve. The aim of my stay there is to develop some dedicated algorithms based on machine learning that could satisfy the needs of one or more industrial companies.

I feel that this experience will be totally new for me. If you are used to the world of research, then you know perfectly well that sometimes you may succeed, sometimes you may fail. The work in private consulting is instead something that always has to have a successful outcome, since you have to provide a clear and satisfying answer to the client you’ve been chosen by. This could sound a little bit scary, but I’ll do my best to succeed.

I’m also starting my work at CERN. I’ve been a member of the CMS collaboration for a few weeks now and I’m starting to get into that. At the moment, I’m involved in the local reconstruction of tracks in the strip detector.

I guess more news will follow in the next weeks!