by Alessia Saggio

One month has passed since I arrived in Oxford, and now it’s already time to leave. What’s quite strange is that I surprised myself thinking that I’m sad to go away from here, even though tomorrow I’m going back to Italy for my vacations. Don’t get me wrong, of course I’m looking forward to catching up with my family again, but I have to say that this month has been even better than expected.

I’ve been working with Cecilia and Giles. We worked hard, and we worked incredibly well together. We generated Monte Carlo samples for the process pp->HH->4b and the associated QCD background using MadGraph, Pythia to shower them and Delphes to include the detector effects. But I don’t want to tell you now in detail all our work (there will be time enough in the future for that).

I’m writing this post just because I want to thank them. When you work with someone you trust, you laugh with, you go out with on Saturday nights, then you work even better than you usually do. So thank you guys, for making me feel at home in a place that I didn’t know before. Thank you, because facing the problems together is in most of the cases the best way to solve them. I’m happy I’m going to work with Giles again next year, and I hope I’ll keep working with Cecilia in the next future, even if no secondments are scheduled for both of us together anymore.

This is maybe the shortest post I’ve ever written on this blog; on the other hand, I wrote it with a sincere affection.

I’m going to pack now, it’s really time to get back home.

Ciao!

20160728_231928