by Alessia Saggio

After annoying you for one month with Machine Learning algorithms and my “consulting life”, I decided it’s time to take a break! This time I would like to share with you some pictures I took in some amazing places in Belgium that you should absolutely visit in case you pass by here. In fact, my parents and my sister came to visit me last weekend, the weather was unexpectedly nice, so I brought them around for a small tour of Belgium.

There are a lot of nice little cities in Belgium, but I think that the most worth-visiting is certainly Bruges, in the very northern part. Its historic city centre is a World Heritage Site of UNESCO, full of small houses characterised by the typical flemish architecture. There are lots of little canals intertwining each other among narrow and beautiful streets. I guess this is the reason why it’s also called “the Venice of the North”, together with Amsterdam and Stockholm (honestly, I don’t like this: too many Venices, don’t you agree? 😉 ).

But if you pass by here, of course you can’t miss the European Capital: Bruxelles! Unlike Bruges, I go to Brussels very often, just to take a walk or to hang out with my friends, since it’s very close to where I live. I really love it.

I was astonished the first time I saw the Grand Place at night and I still am every time I see it. There I realised that what they say about it is completely true: it really is one of the most beautiful squares in the world! But in general, walking through the streets of Brussels really feels like walking in the heart of Europe, and not just because it hosts the European Parliament…

Just one little warning before saying goodbye. You probably may know one of the landmarks of Brussels, the Manneken Pis. Well, I don’t know if it’s been a bit oversold over the years or if it’s the fame itself to raise the expectations of people, but… it’s only 60 cm tall! So don’t get too disappointed when you see it :p

All kidding aside, it’s time for some pictures now. Enjoy, till the next time!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.